SIAIS Principal Investigator Dr. Haitao Yang Received the Youth Shu Lan Medicine Award


On November 16th 2019, Dr. Haitao Yang, Principal Investigator from Shanghai Institute of Advanced Immunochemical Institute (SIAIS), received the 2019 Youth Shu Lan Medicine Award. This is the first time the prize has been awarded to ShanghaiTech faculties.

Youth Shu Lan Medicine Awards Winners and the Presenters

(The image is from:


The Shu Lan Medicine Awards, first awarded in 2014, recognizes distinguished scientists and scholars. Youth Shu Lan Medicine Award is specially set up for the young generation of scientists and scholars, to recognize their outstanding scientific and technological accomplishments. This year’s award ceremony took place in Hangzhou on November 16th, 2019. Nearly 20 academicians from Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE) attended the ceremony, including Zhu Chen (CAS member, Vice Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress), Shusen Zheng (CAE member, Chair of Shu Lan Foundation), and Lanjuan Li (CAE member, Chair of Shu Lan Foundation).


Dr. Haitao Yang, ShanghaiTech University

Dr. Haitao Yang is Principal Investigator of Lab of Infection and Anti-infection at SIAIS, ShanghaiTech University, and Associate Professor at the School of Life Science and Technology (SLST), ShanghaiTech University.

Dr. Haitao Yang received his BS degree from Sichuan University (2001), and his Ph.D. degree from Tsinghua University (2006). Following his postdoctoral research at the Yale University (2006-2011), he was promoted to Associate Research Scientist (2011-2013). He joined Tianjin University in 2013, where he became Full Professor and served as Vice Dean of School of Life Sciences (2013-2017). He is also Research Professor of Tianjin International Joint Academy of Biomedicine (Adjunct) and Director of Infectious Disease Drug Discovery Institute. He joined ShanghaiTech University in 2018 and established the Lab of Infection and Anti-infection at SIAIS. Learn more about Dr. Haitao Yang at his webpage:


Shu Lan Medicine Awards Winners 2019

  • Special Shu Lan Medicine Awards Winner

Paul Ulrich Unschuld Professor, Charité-Medical University Berlin

  • Shu Lan Medicine Awards Winners

Boli Zhang (CAE member), Yongfeng Shang (CAS member)

  • Youth Shu Lan Medicine Awards Winners

Hailong Dong, Shancheng Ren, Guoji Guo, Haitao Yang, Yuanyi Zheng, Yingmei Zhang, Yonghui Zhang, Xiaoguang Lei, Quan Yuan, Dayan Wang